Open letter to Nickelodeon.

Hello, Nickelodeon. How you doing? Good? Have a seat.

My name is Elizabeth Kopuz, and I was born in 1985. This makes me a proud 90’s kid. I grew up watching wonderful shows like Ren and Stimpy and Are You Afraid of the Dark. I actually own all 7 seasons of AYAOTD on DVD as well as some Ren and Stimpy, and a bit of Hey Arnold. These shows were my childhood. I grew up dreaming of some day being slimed. I would have loved to be on Legends of the Hidden Temple or Wild and Crazy Kids or Double Dare. I never cared too much about Disney, for me, it was all about Nickelodeon. I can still sing Stick Stickley’s fan mail song from memory, and remember my favorite episodes of all of my favorite shows. In fact, if you ask almost anyone from my generation, you will hear a similar story. It is a well known fact that a lot of people think the 90’s was the best decade.

I have a 15 year old daughter, and a 3 year old. This means I have seen a lot of the newer shows. To say they pale in comparison to what we had in the 90’s is giving them far too much credit. I do not have cable due to the fact that I would rather they grow up watching the same shows I did (yes, even Ren and Stimpy). My toddler happens to LOVE Maggie and the Ferocious Beast.

Recently, “The Splat” came to my attention when they followed me on twitter. I believed this was going to be a 90’s channel, born on the coat tails of the recent success of Girl Meets World, as well as the announcement that they will be bringing back Duck Tails and introducing Fuller House. I had assumed that you had seen the success in appealing to the 90’s kids, and wanted to jump in with a channel. I was so excited. I was looking into my options for getting cable simply for that channel.

Imagine my disappointment in learning that it is only a block of shows from 10pm to 6am. Yeah, because anyone is going to reasonably stay up to watch that. Don’t know if you realize this, but, most of us 90’s kids have small children. We can’t stay up until all hours of the night to finally get to watch our shows. This is not a viable option when we have to wake up in the morning, and get our kids together. We have to be able to care for our kids, as well as get our work done.

I can absolutely guarantee that if you were to create a 90’s channel, viewership would explode. Not only would 90’s kids watch, but, guess what? My girls prefer 90’s shows over what is on now. That’s right. A teenager and a toddler would rather watch Aaah! Real Monsters and Angry Beavers over whatever a  Thunderman is.

I suppose, what it is going to come down to, is whether you or Disney grabs the chance first. They are already bringing back and revisiting great shows from the 90’s. When are you going to step up to the plate?

Signed

A very disappointed lifetime fan.

For those of you who read this and agree, my petition is here.

Create a CHANNEL for 90’s Nickelodeon shows

One thought on “Open letter to Nickelodeon.

  1. Pingback: Index of Posts. | Inside the Mind of a Dramatic Mother

Leave a Reply

