Death Threats and Teenagers.

Alright, *sigh* so, it looks like I have to do this. WHEN will people realize it is a bad idea to annoy me? Let’s jump in, shall we?

Last night, the American Music Awards took place. As usual, they have artfully shortened the moniker to the AMA’s. I didn’t watch, as I do not have cable, and honestly could not care less about award shows if I tried. I never have, but at this point in my life, it is obvious that the results are known ahead of time, and that just put me over the edge of not caring about them.

But, I digress. I am not here to talk about this award show. I was tooling around online, thinking that I should go to bed, but I was too lazy to do so. I was going through some of my “Watch later” videos on YouTube, and had finished watching the new “Dare Marcus” on Marcus Butler’s channel. Yes, I AM aware that I am a 29 year old woman. I like his content, as well as several others in his “group” of YouTubers. They are funny and make me smile. Anyway, at first I had been frustrated, because I had been going through the videos that were less than four minutes long, and though I had turned off the function that makes it go to the next video in my list, it turned itself back on, and went to this more than six minute video, and I knew that if I did not watch it now, the next time I hit the “remove watched” button it would disappear from my list. At the end of the video, I was very happy I watched it, so it all turned out well. This, also, is not what I am here to talk about, however.

I went to twitter. Here is where my point comes in. I scanned through my feed, you know, like you do. I saw What The Buck was talking about the AMA’s, and then my eyes found Perez Hilton. Perez is always live tweeting these things, and his tweets amuse me. Perez is one of those people who apparently, you love or hate. There seems to be no middle ground. Personally, I adore him. I think his little boy is gorgeous, and I agree with most of what he tweets. I read most of his blogs as well, and of course, I can not say that I agree with everything he says, but I recognize that we are two different people with different opinions, and I respect that. I think he has made a FANTASTIC change in who he is. No longer is he a bully, attacking celebrities simply for something to do. He makes honest critiques, and he does not sugar coat his opinions. Even if he loves a celeb, he will be honest when he thinks they have messed up. And if he does not particularly care for someone, he is honest when he likes something they have done.

That is far more than I can say of the multitude of teenagers that follow him seemingly for no other reason than to be horrifyingly cruel to him and tear him down. Apparently they have nothing better to do with their lives. I am genuinely sad for them. Every time Perez gives an honest criticism of a celebrity, whether he likes them or not, and often if he is only posting a video of his adorable little cherub baby, this is what I see.

This is horrifying.
This is horrifying.

I can not understand how people (mostly teenagers from what I have seen) can say these things. Perez was being honest about his opinions, and suddenly hundreds of people want to kill him? What is this world coming to? I would NEVER have presumed to say these things to someone at any point in my life. Perez, for the record, was simply tweeting his confusion over a One Direction member who had not said a single word. He was confused as to why Zayn was not speaking. From other tweets I saw, he was simply saying what most reasonable people were thinking. It terrifies me how these children think it is okay to talk like this. Several months ago I mentioned how I thought Taylor Swift kept coming out with songs that are exactly the same. For the record, I would like to point out that I LOVE Blank space. I can not get that song out of my head, and I think she has made a wonderful change in her direction. Then I got attacked by the Swifties. The tweets I received ranged from being told I was a troll, to being told that my mother should have aborted me, and even *gasp* wishes that I would step on a lego barefoot. At this point, a lovely Directioner named Lily came to my defense.The way these stans can get so defensive of these celebs, to the point of death threats is horrifying. I honestly feel that they need to get help.

These people need to realize that it is not okay to threaten someones life, or to tell them to kill themselves just because you do not like them. The fact that you do not like someone does not give you the right to be cruel to them. It does not give you the right to threaten them. These people need to get help. They ought to be in counseling. It terrifies me. Truly. I am horrified that these children represent our future. I am horrified that my daughters will grow up and be surrounded by people who think it is okay to make death threats. THIS NEEDS TO STOP. I am sad for the future of the world.

One thought on “Death Threats and Teenagers.

  1. Pingback: Index of Posts. | Inside the Mind of a Dramatic Mother

Leave a Reply

