Don’t Read This if You Don’t Like Your Religious Views to be Challenged.

In the end of the book The Last Battle, by CS Lewis, there is a passage that has always stuck with me, and I wanted to share it. this passage deals with my views on religion, so, if you don’t care to think about religion, don’t read this.

Every time I think about Christianity, or Islam, or Judaism, or any other religion, this has stuck to me. I think about how many “Christians” or “Muslims” or “Jews” etc. treat people of different faiths, colors, ethnicity, and other things with such disrespect. I think about how many times I hear a “Christian” passing judgment on a member of the LGBT community despite the well known bible verse: Luke 6:37 “Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.” I am sure that no matter what Holy book you read, there are similar thoughts expressed, and yet we all seem to pass judgment. I don’t know much, if anything, about any religion other than Christianity, which is why I am using this particular faith in my examples, but I see an awful lot of people who claim to be “Christian” and are not very “Christ – like” in their lives. It has occurred to me that God is not looking at labels, or what word we use to describe our faith, but that he is looking at what we do in our lives. Whether you believe in the Christian God, Allah, or Buddha, these are only names. It has also occurred to me that a lot of religions (from what I have observed) seem to be basically the same, we believe a lot of the same things. Even those who do not find themselves in a religion for whatever reason seem to hold to the same basic principles as “the right thing to do”

I have many LGBT friends. I do not think they are evil, or less human than I am because of who they love, and I know it is not a choice. I did not choose to be straight, and I know that they do not have magical powers that allow them to choose who they love either. To think that is absurd. To think that ANYONE would consciously CHOOSE to do something for which they know they will be persecuted, beaten, raped, or sometimes killed, for which they might be cast out by their family or friends is completely ridiculous. Religion tends to put these people, these wonderful, kind, caring, amazing people on a black list “oh, you will go to hell because you’re doing it wrong” Who are we to say where they will go? Who are we to judge what is right or wrong? But I am off topic, because I ramble. I was talking about a passage in the last of the Narnia books. I hope that some of you will read this and think about it… but I know some of you will read it, and roll your eyes, or put it out of your minds, and I know others who will simply not have read this far, but I felt the desire building to a need to speak my piece, and so I am. The passage:

“Then I fell at his feet and thought, Surely this is the hour of death, for the Lion (who is worthy of all honor) will know that I have served Tash all my days and not him. Nevertheless, it is better to see the Lion and die than to be Tisroc of the world and live and not to have seen him. But the Glorious One bent down his golden head and touched my forehead with his tongue and said, Son, thou art welcome. But I said, Alas, Lord, I am no son of thine but the servant of Tash. He answered, Child, all the service thou hast done to Tash, I account as service done to me. Then by reasons of my great desire for wisdom and understanding, I overcame my fear and questioned the Glorious One and said, Lord, is it then true, as the Ape said, that thou and Tash are one? The Lion growled so that the earth shook (but his wrath was not against me) and said, It is false. Not because he and I are one, but because we are opposites, I take to me the services which thou hast done to him. For I and he are of such different kinds that no service which is vile can be done to me, and none which is not vile can be done to him. Therefore if any man swear by Tash and keep his oath for the oath’s sake, it is by me that he has truly sworn, though he know it not, and it is I who reward him. And if any man do a cruelty in my name, then, though he says the name Aslan, it is Tash whom he serves and by Tash his deed is accepted. Dost thou understand, Child? I said, Lord, thou knowest how much I understand. But I said also (for the truth constrained me), Yet I have been seeking Tash all my days. Beloved, said the Glorious One, unless thy desire had been for me thou shouldst not have sought so long and so truly. For all find what they truly seek.”

One thought on “Don’t Read This if You Don’t Like Your Religious Views to be Challenged.

  1. Pingback: Index of Posts. | Inside the Mind of a Dramatic Mother

Leave a Reply

